Yeah Zack is back!!!!!!

image

image

image

image

image

image

Who is Zack and where did he return from? Zack is my son and student of Sankofa Internatioal Academy. He spent 2 weeks at the Freedom Retreat for Boys and Girls. While I do have some concerns about the camp, I am very happy with the young man that was returned to me.
Zack is expressing himself with more confidence and clarity. He has learned alot about his African culture that he will need to connect him to his African identity. When I inquired about a typical day; he explained to me about libation. He even told me the purpose of it. I was impressed.
I believe that Freedom Retreat for Boys and Girls will teach our children the skills that so many of us learn much later in life. Most of us dont know about libation until a Kwanza celebration or until we see a music video when we “pour some out for our homies”.
Now my job has just begun. This is something that has to be continued. Oh thats right my son is a student of SIA. They do libations every morning and recite the African countries and point them out on a map daily.
I want to take this time to say thank you to Miss Ollie, Zack’s principal. On family day she came out and supported her student and son Zack. She bought him little toys and some snacks. He truely appreciated the love and so did I.

About Sankofa International Academy

Sankofa is a private independent program which serves children in grades 1 through 8. Our students have diverse backgrounds and they are taught their history and culture as a foundation for developing positive self images, high moral standards and effective leadership skills.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

